Go to the main page content
Foto: Dietrich Hackenberg / DOMiD-Archive, Köln


DOMiD is a non-profit association. It acts politically independent and ideologically neutral. It is supported by the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the City of Cologne.

The association is formed by its members and honorary board members. Furthermore, a scientific advisory board supports DOMID in content-related developments and central scientific issues.

Learn more about the staff of the Cologne office, the board of directors and the scientific advisory board below.

Dr. Robert Fuchs | Executive Director

Dr. Robert Fuchs | Executive Director

Beate Rieple | Archive Director

Beate Rieple | Archive Director

Dr. Katrin Schaumburg | Project management

Dr. Katrin Schaumburg | Project management | „Haus der Einwanderungsgesellschaft“

Timothy Tasch | Human Ressources & Organisational Development

Timothy Tasch | Human Resources & Organisational Development

Timo Glatz | Press and Public Relations

Timo Glatz | Press and Public Relations

Sandra Vacca | Project Management | DOMiDLabs – Making Museum Design Participatory

Azziza Malanda | Press and Public Relations | Deputy Project Manager

Azziza B. Malanda | Press and Public Relations | Deputy Project Manager | DOMiDLabs – Making Museum Design Participatory

Azziza Malanda | Press and Public Relations | Deputy Project Manager

Carmen Steins | Project administration |
DOMiDLabs – Making Museum Design Participatory

Bengü Kocatürk-Schuster | Research Associate

Bengü Kocatürk-Schuster | Research Associate | Collection Expansion

Nicola Kunst | Finances & Fundraising

Niklas Frechen | IT & Team Support

Niklas Frechen | IT & Team Support

Bettina Just | Project "Findbuch" (Finding Aids)

Bettina Just | Project "Findbuch" (Finding Aids)

Ceyhun Kara | Project „Vereinsgeschichte“ (DOMiD History)

Dr. Manuel Gogos | Project "Vereinsgeschichte" (DOMiD history)

Dr. Manuel Gogos | Project "Vereinsgeschichte" (DOMiD History)

Board of Directors

General Meeting of the Members and Board of Directors

The members of our non-profit association convene at least once a year. The general meeting is the highest decision-making committee that is also responsible for the election of the board of directors. The current chairpersons are Dr. Ali Kemal Gün, Jens Grimmelijkhuizen and Ahmet Sezer.

Our current members of the board of directors are:

Tevfik Aslan
Iva Krtalić
Murad Bayraktar
Elif Şenel
Jens Grimmelijkhuizen
Dr. Ali Kemal Gün
Ahmet Sezer

The board is elected by our members.

Advisory Board

The scientific advisory board supports DOMiD in our continual development and with central scientific questions. The board is comprised of internationally reknown scientists who reside across Germany. Member of the advisory board are chosen by the board of directors for unspecified lengths of time.

Prof. Dr. Georg Auernheimer

retired university professor for general and intercultural pedagogy, founder and member of the research center for intercultural studies(RiSt), University of Cologne

Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Beck-Gernsheim
retired university professor for sociology, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, guest professor, NTNU/University of Trondheim (Norway)

Prof. Dr. Jochen Oltmer
project manager at the Institute for Research on Migration and Intercultural Studies, University of Osnabrück

Prof. Dr. Ludger Pries
professor for sociology/organization, migration, co-determination, Ruhr University Bochum

Prof. Dr. Claus Leggewie
former director of the Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities, Essen

Prof. Dr. Micha Brumlik
retired professor of education, University of Frankfurt am Main

Prof. Dr. em. Wolf-Dietrich Bukow
retired professor for sociology of culture and education, founder of research center for intercultural studies (RiSt), University of Cologne

Prof. Dr. Tobias Brinkmann
associate professor of Jewish Studies and History, Penn State University, USA

Prof. Dr. Viola B. Georgi
professor for diversity education, University of Hildesheim

Dr. Ulrich S. Soénius
director of the „Rhine-Westphalia Economic Archive“ of Cologne, managing director of location policy, traffic, business support of the Chamber of Industry and Commerce (IHK Köln)

Dr. Mark Terkessidis
independent journalist ,migration researcher, author, Cologne

Sergey Lagodinsky

head of the apartment of EU/North America of the Heinrich-Böll-foundation, former fellow of the Global Public Policy Institute and „Stiftung Neue Verantwortung“, Berlin

Dr. Barbara Laubenthal
lecturer at the Department of Germanic Studies, University of Texas

Prof. Dr. Yasemin Karakaşoğlu
Turkologist and educational scientist, head of the intercultural education department at the University of Bremen

Prof. Dr. Dirk Hoerder
retired professor of social history of the USA, University of Bremen, and at the North American Center for Borderland Studies and Department of History, Arizona State University, USA

Prof. Dr. Heribert Prantl
Publicist, long-time member of the editor-in-chief of the Süddeutsche Zeitung, honorary professor of law at the University of Bielefeld

Dr. Udo Gößwald
director of the museum in Neukölln, Berlin

Back to top